Click for home. Lakeland University

Lakeland University recently held its Blue & Gold Awards, a joint celebration of the athletics department, Student Success and residence life to honor accomplishments from the school year.

Awards are given to student leaders in these areas, as well as top organizations and staff and faculty members who support LU students.

Here's a complete list of 2019 winners:

Student Success/Residence Life Awards

  • Outstanding Commuter Award: Dominique Lee and Zach Mock
  • Outstanding Resident Assistant: Jerry Stokes
  • Outstanding Blue and Gold Champion: Carleigh Johnson
  • Outstanding New Student Organization: Hispanic Professionals of Greater Milwaukee
  • Student Success Advocates: Maddison Schweitzer, Diante Moses, Tomas Duckert
  • Student Chief Executive Officer: Corey Allen
  • Demonstrating Excellence as an Individual/Organization: Tali Coleman, Cris Jackson, Aaliyah Lewis-McCollum, Student Foundation Board
  • Inter-Greek Council 5-Star Award: Phi Delta Omega and Pi Kappa Gamma
  • Dean's Cup (top Greek chapter): Phi Delta Omega
  • Emerging Leaders: Elijah Santiago, Maui Viola, Maribel Dorantes
  • Staff appreciation: April Arvan and Ann Penke
  • Outstanding Student Organization Advisor: Christi Chang

Athletics Awards

  • Kaelin O'Neal Award: Miranda Jacobson. Award goes to the student-athlete who best demonstrates his or her faith, motivation, positive attitude and work ethic while supporting others. The award is named after the freshman who drowned in an on-campus pond in
  • Pat Curran Award: Cris Jackson. Presented to the senior football player who best combines football and academic excellence. Curran, a 1972 Lakeland graduate, played 10 years in the NFL.
  • TW Hoernemann Award: Miranda Jacobson. Presented annually to the senior player who best exhibits strength, courage and perseverance in the areas of academic excellence, basketball proficiency, fighting spirit, exemplary conduct on and off the court, campus leadership and winning attitude. Hoernemann was a 1909 Mission House graduate who led creation of the first basketball program.
  • Female Athlete of the Year: Miranda Jacobson
  • Male Athlete of the Year: Pat McDonald
  • Female Athlete Rookie of the Year: Kacey Gardner
  • Male Athlete Rookie of the Year: Nathan Hemmerling
  • Comeback of the Year: Men's volleyball vs. No. 7 Southern Virginia

Take a virtual tour of Lakeland's campus anytime, anywhere

virtual tour

In the headlines

Co-op pushes junior outside his comfort zone Co-op pushes junior outside his comfort zone

Henry Wojtczak has his sights set of being a golf caddie and traveling the country when he graduates. The junior... More detail

News Archive

Blog Archive

What's on the calendar

14 Dec
Christmas Break
Dec 14 - Jan 20
21 Dec
Christmas Break
Dec 21 - Jan 21

All Events