Click for home. Lakeland University

Lakeland College President Dan Eck today announced the appointment of Nate Lowe as dean of Lakeland University's School of Humanities and Fine Arts, rounding out the institution's new academic leadership team.

As part of the transition to Lakeland University, which begins July 1, the college's existing seven academic divisions will be restructured into three schools – a School of Business & Entrepreneurship; a School of Science, Technology & Education; and a School of Humanities and Fine Arts.

Lowe, a member of Lakeland's faculty since 2007, will lead academic majors within the School of Humanities and Fine Arts and the development of new programming. He will also be responsible for supporting curricular alignment between the traditional and Evening, Weekend and Online delivery models. He will teach two courses annually.

The School of Humanities and Fine Arts will house Lakeland's undergraduate majors and minors in art, broad field social studies, communication, English, history, music, religion, Spanish and writing. Pending approval by the Higher Learning Commission, it will also offer a bachelor of fine arts degree in creative writing.

Lakeland previously announced that Meg Albrinck has been named Lakeland University's provost, Brian Frink will be dean of the School of Science, Technology & Education and Scott Niederjohn will be dean of the School of Business & Entrepreneurship.

All roles are effective Aug. 1.

Lowe currently serves Lakeland as chair of the Creative Arts Division and as associate professor of writing. He has served many administrative roles in the creative arts, interdisciplinary studies and academic assessment. He teaches creative writing, composition, interdisciplinary core and honors courses. In his classes, students are encouraged to share their knowledge, experience and writing with each other, where they find and learn from commonalities and differences.

Lowe's essays have been published in journals such as Ascent, Blood Orange Review, Beecher's Magazine and The Chattahoochee Review, honored with two Pushcart Prize nominations and listed among the year's "notable" in Best American Essays 2007. This May, the Council of Wisconsin Writers will award him an honorable mention for their annual Kay W. Levin Award for Short Nonfiction.

He is currently at work on a book of essays set in the many farm and ranch trucks in which he grew up, witnessed the lives of adults around him and eventually drove for himself.

He received a Master of Fine Arts in creative writing from the University of Idaho.

In the headlines

2016 graduate ordained in Kentucky 2016 graduate ordained in Kentucky

Callie Olson, a 2016 Lakeland graduate and winner of the Koehler Campus Senior Award, graduated from Asbury Theological... More detail

News Archive

Blog Archive

What's on the calendar

29 May
Meditation session
May 29 12:00 pm - 12:30 pm
29 May
Loungers Book Group
May 29 5:00 pm - 6:00 pm
3 Jun
Free Yoga
Jun 3 5:00 pm - 6:00 pm

All Events