Click for home. Lakeland University

Honors recipients Lakeland College senior Aimee Thrune, a triple major from Prairie du Sac, Wis., was named the winner of the 50th annual Clarence H. Koehler Award, the college's top award for undergraduate students. The award was announced at the annual Honors Banquet on April 1.

Thrune, who will graduate in May with majors in education, mathematics and Spanish, amassed an impressive resume of leadership and involvement during her time at Lakeland.

The Koehler Award is presented each year to a Lakeland senior who best exemplifies "The Lakeland Spirit" by his or her participation in and support of the college's programs and activities. To be eligible, graduates must complete all four undergraduate years at Lakeland and maintain a high level of academic achievement.

Thrune was named to the college's Dean's List every semester, is a previous winner of the Outstanding Student in both Mathematics and Spanish and is a member of the Spanish National Honors Society.

She served the college as a resident assistant, an admissions ambassador, a tutor and a teaching assistant in Spanish. She played basketball four years, serving as team captain for two. She served as an officer for several difference academic and athletic organizations, and worked countless volunteer hours for several organizations. She studied abroad in Columbia and China.

"These opportunities helped me find friends, listen better, find myself and strive for success," Thrune said. "I sought understanding and found it by being involved in a little bit of everything at Lakeland because I was exposed to different perspectives every day."

The award is named for the Rev. Clarence Koehler, who graduated from the college in 1937 and from the seminary in 1939. He later became a member of the college's board of trustees, and was chairman of the board in 1957 when he passed away at age 48.

The Rev. Koehler was an outstanding student and participated in numerous activities on campus, including music, athletics, student publications and managing the campus bookstore. He maximized his college experience, and this award honors that spirit.

Other winners at Wednesday night's banquet included:

Business Administration
Outstanding Student in Accounting: Kelly Rogers
Outstanding Student in International Business: Sho Fujino
Outstanding Student in Marketing: Karyssa Gallenberger
Outstanding Underclassman in Business Administration: Krista Kretschmann
Outstanding Upperclassman in Business Administration: Joseph Kaestner-Provencher

Creative Arts
Outstanding Art Major: Katie LaPlaunt
Outstanding Student in Communication: Stacy Scheibl
Outstanding Theatre Student of the Year: Elizabeth Plotka
Outstanding Student in Writing: Katherine Amundsen

Outstanding Student in Education: Erica Sommerfield

Outstanding Student in Religion: Callie Olson
Outstanding Student in English: Lindsay Brown
Outstanding Student in Spanish: Emily Huberty

Natural Science
Outstanding Senior in Biochemistry: Jenna Ward
Outstanding Freshman in Chemistry: Suzette Rosas
Outstanding Senior in Chemistry: Kevin Urbaniak
Outstanding Student in Computer Science: Pablo Palacios
Outstanding Student in Mathematics: Michele Marquardt
Outstanding Student in Sport Studies: Derek VandenPlas

Social Science
Outstanding Student in Criminal Justice: Megan Gomez
Outstanding Student in History: Vanessa Vander Weele
Outstanding Student in Nonprofit Management: Maria Cervantes
Outstanding Student in Political Science: Rebecca Gardipee
Outstanding Student in Psychology: Kimberly Daane
Outstanding Student in Sociology: Chieko Kusanagi

Lakeland College Japan
Outstanding Student at Lakeland College Japan: Sayaka Sue

Ellen J. Kregel Athletic Award: Alec Redlich

Senior Honors
Karissa Anderson, Paige Gerber, Lindsay Kleckner, Veronika Lau, Joshua Leisemann, Stephanie Rock, Amber Smith, Brittany Kopp

Who's Who Award
Katherine Amundsen, Karissa Anderson, Lindsay Brown, Emmaculate Dika, Rebeca Elliott, Paul Elzinga, Megan Gomez, Jennifer Kjin, Katie LaPlaunt, Veronika Lau, Jacob Maechtle, Callie Olson, Sara Pfile, Vanessa Popp, Zachary Rogers, Brandon Rooker, Trevor Tanck, Kimberly Thimmig, Aimee Thrune, Leah Ulatowski, Jenna Ward, Braden Woods, Daniel Zea Zapata, Katherine Zielsdorf


View photos from the event


Take a virtual tour of Lakeland's campus anytime, anywhere

virtual tour

In the headlines

Lakeland launching eSports, creating arena in 2020

Lakeland University will add eSports to its varsity athletics lineup in the fall of 2020, and the university is... More detail

News Archive

Blog Archive

What's on the calendar

All Events