Sheboygan County Scholars signing ceremony: Brandon Herrin

April 19, 2016 In Lakeland University Blog
Rate this item
(0 votes)
There were dozens of hugs and more than a few tears of joy during a ceremonial signing ceremony last week at Plymouth High School for senior Brandon Herrin.

Herrin signed a letter-of-intent in front of family and friends, celebrating his full-tuition, four-year leadership-based Lakeland College Sheboygan Scholars Program scholarship.

Herrin is one of four 2016 inductees into the innovative program, which each year adds up to four deserving local seniors. A National Honor Society member, Herrin plans to major in psychology and religion. He is an accomplished student thespian who also excels in forensics, and he serves as president of “Students for Social Justice” at Plymouth.

Previously, Sheboygan North senior Dante Williams celebrated with a signing at his school. Future ceremonies will honor fellow 2016 Sheboygan County Scholars Lauren Bruggink (Oostburg) and Shyanne Koski (Random Lake).

Starting in fall, the four new Sheboygan County Scholars will join the three members of last year’s first class: Zachery Mock (Howards Grove), Matthew Seider (Sheboygan Christian) and Emma Schad (Sheboygan Falls).

Sheboygan County Scholars are chosen from candidates with at least a 3.5 grade point average or a 27 on the ACT. Finalists are interviewed by a committee made up of Lakeland College employees. This year’s winners were among 16 highly qualified finalists.

While at Lakeland, Sheboygan County Scholars will participate in an exclusive leadership development program that includes one-on-one meetings with area CEOs and other successful professionals.

For more information about this program, visit or contact Lakeland K-12 School Relations Manager Jason Duff at 920-565-1021 ext. 2118 or .
More in this category: « Hackl recognized as Lakeland's top student employee Student Success & Engagement Team presents awards »
back to top