Sheboygan County Scholars signing ceremony: Lauren Bruggink

April 22, 2016 In Lakeland University Blog
Rate this item
(0 votes)
Moments before signing a ceremonial letter-of-intent that signifies her acceptance of a full-tuition, four-year leadership scholarship to Lakeland College, Oostburg High senior Lauren Bruggink said, “this is going to change my life.”

Bruggink is one of four 2016 members of Lakeland’s innovative Sheboygan County Scholars Program, which annually awards up to four full-tuition leadership-based scholarships to deserving local students.

Previously, Sheboygan North senior Dante Williams and Plymouth senior Brandon Herrin celebrated with similar signing celebrations at their schools. Shyanne Koski of Random Lake will host her event next week.

Bruggink plans to earn her Lakeland degree in biochemistry, then attend graduate school before pursuing a career in food science. She already works at Sargento as a quality assurance youth apprentice.

Starting in fall, the four new Sheboygan County Scholars will join the three members of last year’s first class: Zachery Mock (Howards Grove), Matthew Seider (Sheboygan Christian) and Emma Schad (Sheboygan Falls).

Sheboygan County Scholars are chosen from candidates with at least a 3.5 grade point average or a 27 on the ACT. Finalists are interviewed by a committee made up of Lakeland College employees. This year’s winners were among 16 highly qualified finalists.

While at Lakeland, Sheboygan County Scholars will participate in an exclusive leadership development program that includes one-on-one meetings with area CEOs and other successful professionals.

For more information about this program, visit or contact Lakeland K-12 School Relations Manager Jason Duff at 920-565-1021 ext. 2118 or .

More in this category: « Lakeland forms Psi Chi chapter Prevea CEO visits Lakeland »
back to top