Lakeland University News

Behrmann wins Koehler Award to highlight honors banquet

Behrmann wins Koehler Award to highlight honors banquet


Behrmann wins Koehler Award to highlight honors banquet

Lakeland University senior Bill Behrmann, a criminal justice and Spanish double major from Long Lake, Wis., has been named the winner of the 54th annual Clarence H. Koehler Award, the university's top award for undergraduate students. The award was announced at the annual Honors Banquet on April 24.

The Koehler Award is presented each year to a Lakeland senior who best exemplifies "The Lakeland Spirit" by his or her participation in and support of the university's programs and activities. To be eligible, graduates must complete all their undergraduate years at Lakeland and maintain a high level of academic achievement.

Behrmann assembled an impressive resume of leadership and service to the institution during his four years that reflects a well-rounded liberal arts education.

He served as president of the Criminal Justice Club and the Alpha Phi Sigma National Criminal Justice Honor Society, and was inducted into the Spanish National Honor Society and the National Honor Society of Leadership Success. He served his peers as a tutor in both criminal justice and Spanish.

He began working for Dining Services as a freshman, and by his second semester he was promoted to a student lead and twice was nominated Lakeland Student Employee of the Year. He was a member of the Lakeland men's tennis team.

In the summer of 2017, he stepped outside his comfort zone by studying abroad in Costa Rica for a month. "Not only did I expand my knowledge of the Spanish language and culture, but also I learned about diversity and inclusion by living in a place where I was the minority," Behrmann said.

Collectively, Behrmann said his Lakeland experience encouraged him to grow into a leader and position himself for post-graduation success.

"These experiences have been amazing … times I will cherish throughout my life," he said. "These opportunities have enhanced my professionalism and work ethic to lead a purposeful and meaningful life."

The Koehler award is named for the Rev. Clarence Koehler, who graduated from the college in 1937 and from the seminary in 1939. He later became a member of the college's board of trustees and was chairman of the board in 1957 when he passed away at age 48.

The Rev. Koehler was an outstanding student and participated in numerous activities on campus, including music, athletics, student publications and managing the campus bookstore. He maximized his college experience, and this award honors that spirit.

The other five finalists for the Koehler Award were Emma Bruder, Adrienne Guarnieri, Zachery Mock, Emilie Schartner and Matthew Seider.

Other winners at Wednesday night's banquet included:

School of Business & Entrepreneurship

Outstanding Student in Accounting: Jacob Barthels
Outstanding Student in Business Administration: Victoria Lauren
Outstanding Student in Hospitality Management: Israel Macias-Gutierrez
Outstanding Student in Marketing: Bryce Risch
Outstanding Student in Sport Management & Leadership: Emma Bruder

School of Humanities & Fine Arts

Outstanding Student in Communication: Dominique Lee
Outstanding Student in English: Aaliyah Lewis McCollum
Outstanding Student in History: Erin Leverenz
Outstanding Student in Music: Dylan Zastrow
Outstanding Student in Religion: Kyle Ericsson
Outstanding Student in Writing: Luke Ulatowski

School of Science, Technology & Education

Outstanding Student in Biochemistry: Thomas Coleman
Outstanding Student in Biology: Grace Schumacher
Outstanding Student in Chemistry: Elizabeth Siebert
Outstanding Student in Computer Science: Daniel & Nicholas Koerber
Outstanding Student in Criminal Justice: William Behrmann & Mai Lor
Outstanding Student in Exercise Science: Dylan Lange
Outstanding Student in Mathematics: Shyanne Koski
Outstanding Student in Psychology: Emilie Schartner

Other awards

Erroll B. Davis, Jr. Award: Alemayehu Lehman
Ellen J. Kregel Athletic Award: Jessica Spaight
Outstanding Student at Lakeland University Japan: Kazune Asaumi
Senior Honors: Jacob Barthels, Gabrielle Boss, Amber Knutson, Zachery Mock, Matthew Seider, Grace Schumacher, Emma Schad.